organicglory

simple, natural abundance

Easy Apricot Chicken

Got this recipe from LaurenConrad.com, and it turned out to be a winner! I set the bar low these days. Recipes need to be quick, with very few ingredients that I can purchase at a major retailer, with a two-month-old in tow. Ideally, my husband and I would both eat it. This has been easier since I’ve been nursing and have started incorporating some meat into my diet to better balance my nutritional profile.

20131024-001808.jpg

I’ll write more about my decision to start eating some meat again in a future post, but for now I’ll start by saying that it emerged from a medical need while I was pregnant, and now that I’m breastfeeding it has continued to be the right choice. I am not sure where this will leave me once Georgia is weaned, but I don’t think I have to figure that out right now. I have enough to think about, from the difficulties of nursing to the stress of getting an infant to sleep at night — not to mention having to contemplate my return to work full time in December (cringe). For now, I’d just like to start getting some recipes back on the blog again! Starting with:

Easy Apricot Chicken

Ingredients

  • 1 pound chicken cutlets
  • 1 packet of Lipton’s onion soup
  • 1 jar of apricot preserves (about a cup)
  • 1 bottle Russian or Thousand Island dressing
20131024-001743.jpg

I like to pound chicken cutlets thin, so they are easier to cut and eat. Too thin might affect cook time, so if you choose to do this, just keep an eye on them!

Directions

Start by pre-heating the oven to 375.

Mix the onion soup packet, apricot preserves, and dressing in a bowl. Beat the clumps out with a fork until it’s as smooth as you can get it.

If you are pounding the chicken cutlets flat, which is optional, do so now and set aside.

Pour the sauce mixture into a 9×13 baking dish, reserving some to cover the chicken. Place the cutlets in the dish and cover with the remaining sauce.

Cook uncovered for 40 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Since I was making fresh butternut squash, too, I roasted them for about 15 minutes before putting the chicken in, and then took both out at the same time.

Serve the chicken over rice with a side of squash or any veggies and enjoy!

20131024-001751.jpg

I was just making this for Mark and I, so I only bought three pieces of chicken. There was way too much leftover sauce! You should buy more than this and save leftovers. I’ll be doing that next time so as not to waste anything.

20131024-001835.jpg

Because I had a butternut squash hanging around, I decided to roast it and serve mashed on the side. It went great with this chicken, which I also served with jasmine rice! Trader Joe’s makes a nice variety of frozen jasmine rice that comes in frozen two-serving containers. They’re great for busy weeknights.

20131024-001854.jpg

Start by cutting the squash lengthwise and then scooping out the seeds with a spoon. Roast cut side up in the oven at the same temperature as the chicken for a little bit longer than the meat stays in, or until it’s soft.

I like to add a touch of butter and a tiny splash of real maple syrup to mashed butternut squash for flavor. Yummy!

20131024-002956.jpg

I do a lot with Lipton’s dried onion soup. Besides the obvious onion dip (if you’re unfamiliar, you just use one packet with a container of sour cream and chill in the fridge for a couple hours), I also make some SUPER delicious roasted potatoes with just a splash of olive oil and one packet of dried onion soup. They’re totally yummy for breakfast OR dinner. Check ‘em out!

I hope you find this Easy Apricot Chicken recipe to be a useful weeknight dinner. And now, for a picture of baby at two months — enjoy this too :)

20131027-232817.jpg

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Easy Apricot Chicken

  1. Pingback: Apple Kielbasa with Sauerkraut | organicglory

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 890 other followers

