CSA 2011 · Recipes

RECIPE: Scallion Cream Cheese

This is pretty self-explanatory, but it came out so delicious that I wanted to share the “recipe” anyway.

I get these fabulously enourmous scallions in my CSA almost every week, and I just love finding new ways to use them. When I was a kid we used to get fresh bagels and homemade spreads from a bakery near our house (pretty hard to find that these days in Boston), and scallion cream cheese was so unusual and so satisfying that I’ve always remembered it as a favorite.

Lighter than chive and simpler than veggie, it makes a great bagel topper and I could see dozens of ways to use it beyond that (dip? creamy sauce for pasta? rolled up in place of boursin with chicken cutlets and prosciutto? The list goes on).

I made mine by purchasing a standard package of plain cream cheese at Trader Joe’s, and eyeballing the amount of scallions I snipped in with kitchen shears. But here is a recipe that gives better amounts, which I’ll use as a guideline below.

Ingredients

  • 1 package plain cream cheese (not whipped; lite is OK)
  • 1 bunch scallions (eyeball it depending on their size; about 5 pieces)
  • kosher salt (this is OPTIONAL — I did not salt mine)

Directions

1) Set cream cheese out at room temperature in a mixing bowl.

2) Snip the scallions into small pieces using kitchen shears. Add to the softened cream cheese once it has reached room temp.

3) Mix thoroughly; add more scallion if it looks like there aren’t enough (I like it very scallion-y).

4) Chill for one hour before serving. It tastes best at room temp.

***

4 thoughts on “RECIPE: Scallion Cream Cheese

  1. Fantastic website you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any
    community forums that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really like to be a part of online community where I can get suggestions from other experienced individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

