CSA 2011 · Recipes

Vegan Creamed Scallions

I’ve been wanting to make creamed scallions from my CSA bounty, but I’m lactose intolerant, so heavy cream can be kind of tough on my tummy. So instead I tried it with soy creamer, and it actually turned out delicious! Here is my recipe:

Ingredients:

  • Handful of scallion bunches, about 4, trimmed
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup of water (just enough to cover scallions in pan)
  • 1/2 cup soy cream
  • 2 minced garlic cloves
  • Salt and pepper to taste
I snip mine into one-inch pieces, but you can leave them in one piece.

Directions

Combine the scallions in a saucepan with the water and bring to a simmer.

Cover and cook 5-7 minutes or until soft. Add the soy creamer and garlic.

Uncover and simmer until the liquid is reduced by half, about 10 minutes.

Finally, season with salt and pepper. I used kosher salt and fresh ground black pepper. As for the soy creamer, I use Trader Joe’s version, which is both vegan and gluten-free. It’s very sweet and really replicates the heavy cream texture and taste in a way other brands I’ve tried do not.

This is a rich side dish that can comfortably serve 3 or 4 depending on how many scallions you use. This recipe is easy to scale if you have a large bunch and want to eyeball the amount of liquid up to adjust.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

