Recipes

Christmas Menu

As I’ve mentioned a couple times, my husband Mark and I just bought our first home about five miles north of Downtown Boston. It’s a small Bungalow in the American Craftsman style, with four bedrooms, a living /dining area,  1 bathroom, and a teeny tiny old-fashioned kitchen with cabinets so small I can’t fit most modern food products into them! Undeterred by this (or the fact we just moved in one month ago), I agreed to host Christmas Dinner this year complete with eight guests. I’m combining food traditions, serving some Italian food alongside Swedish dishes (which you’d normally see on Christmas Eve).

These are the placecard holders we got -- miniature Nutrackers, since Mark spent this holiday season working in The Nutcracker. Aren't they cute??

Here’s my full Christmas menu, with recipes to follow:

Appetizers

  • Brie, port salut & cheddar cheese platter with whole wheat crackers, red grapes, and rosemary pita crisps
  • Veggie-herb dip (homemade), Onion dip (packaged), with pretzels & Cape Cod potato chips (the best!)
  • Christmas candies (peppermint kisses, milk chocolate M&Ms with peanuts, Andes toffee bars)
  • And my favorite: CRABBIES! These are English Muffins broiled with a savory topping of old English cheese spread and crabmeat. You break them into bite-sized pieces and OHMYGODYUM.

Dinner

  • Swedish meatballs in gravy
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Lingonberry sauce (a popular Scandinavian jam; find it at grourmet/specialty shops or Ikea.)
  • Ricotta stuffed shells with sweet basil marinara
  • Spiral ham
  • Honey-glazed roasted carrots
  • Creamy corn casserole
  • Broccoli casserole (my mom makes this; I request it every year!)
  • Buttered dinner rolls

Dessert

  • Apple pie & Pumpkin pie with vanilla ice cream (we only do Brigham’s in our house) & homemade whipped cream
  • Gingerbread cookies & sugar cookies
  • Pizzelle (my mom makes these, too — my favorite Italian cookie!)

We do dinner late — 3 p.m. or so — and everyone gathers midday to open presents, have appetizers with wine and cider, and just enjoy one another’s company. We have a tradition of giving “joke gifts” based on inside family jokes before all the other presents, and usually it takes us HOURS to get through everyone’s gifts because we also do stockings and spend forever talking.

Next year, I have a couple new ideas I’d like to try.

    • In honor of our home’s architectural heritage, I am planning to make the “Bungalow Brick” cocktail as a special treat to sip with Christmas apps: 1.5 oz cognac, 1 oz Bailey’s or creme de cacao, and 2 oz eggnog or dairy-free coconut eggnog.
    • I found a great slow-cooker recipe for apple butter that I’m going to make with all the different varieties I pick in the fall. I’ll serve this with the cheese and crackers (but this year, I may make some anyway to test the recipe and then give it out as Little Christmas presents, which my familiy also celebrates every year on January 6).
    • If I can plan far enough in advance, I’d like to make my own Vanilla Extract.
Courtesy: Artistta Blog
2 thoughts on “Christmas Menu

Leave a Reply

