Drinks & Smoothies · Recipes

Cherry Berry Smoothie

This was the last smoothie I invented before my muse, Miss Georgia, was born. When I can find time to actually MAKE smoothies nowadays, they are great to have on hand for a new mom stuck in the house.

20130806-204059.jpg

Cherry Berry Smoothie

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 cup water
  • splash of cranberry juice or concentrate
  • 16 oz. bag frozen mixed berries (I used Trader Joe’s Very Cherry Blend, which has cherries, raspberries, blackberries and blueberries)

DIRECTIONS

Blend ingredients together until smooth, adding liquids to the blender first. Serve cold.

If you don’t like cranberry or don’t have it lying around, you can toss in a splash of any juice, really. I just wanted a little bit more sweet and tart, and that did the trick. You may also find that the smoothie is too thick for your liking with just two cups of liquid, so you can always punch up the water or coconut milk to your preferred texture and consistency.

Berries are full of antioxidants and are super refreshing in the summer and early fall, so enjoy this one!

20130806-204112.jpg

By the way…I’m considering investing in a high quality blender. I found this great comparison of the BlendTec vs. the Vitamix, and I think I’ve concluded that the Blendtec is right for me. Do you have one of these? Any advice or info on which you prefer?

Leave a Reply

