Recipes

Nutella Cookies

Nutella freaks, beware: this recipe has only three ingredients, takes almost no time to pull together, and results in a chewy, hazlenut-y, sweet-yet-salty cookie that will be IMPOSSIBLE for you to resist.

20140427-182504.jpg

I love the simplicity of this recipe, which has no added sugar or oil. Don’t let that fool you, though — there’s plenty of sugar and oil in Nutella itself, so it’s a little disingenuous to call these a reduced-guilt option.

And if you’ve never tried Nutella (clearly you never studied abroad in Italy, where you might have eaten this every day for breakfast?) it’s time to get acquainted. Made with hazlenuts, cocoa and skim milk, Nutella is a super tasty spread enjoyed on toast, crackers or fruit, particularly popular in Europe, and which American companies are just now starting to copycat. (I don’t know what took them so long, either.) It’s not health food, but it’s delicious and a little bit goes a long way. I’ve had a huge tub hanging around in my cupboard for a couple years, so I started to poke around online for ways to make baked goods out of it.

If you’re on Pinterest, I know you’ve seen the type of pin that gave me this recipe — Make cookies! Using just two unexpected ingredients! They’re probably already in your kitchen right now! How can you not go make them? I’m even guilty of posting some of this stuff myself.

Well, I decided I’m going to tackle a few of these recipes, and I started here. I hope you enjoy them!

20140426-164841.jpg

Nutella Cookies

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of Nutella (a little less than one small jar)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup flour
  • Good quality sea salt, for sprinkling

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350.

Blend all ingredients in a medium-sized mixing bowl, adding a dash of water if the batter seems too dry when you’re done.

Roll small balls of dough by hand and bake on a cookie sheet, flattening slightly by hand before placing in the oven, for 6-8 minutes or until set.

Optional but exciting: sprinkle with sea salt before baking. (HOLY MOLY YUM)

Let cool and serve.

These keep well in a storage container or plastic bag for up to a week.

I had some help in making these (but not eating them, not just yet) from my two sous chefs. What a team!

Have a great weekend everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

