Recipes

Chicken & Rice

20140502-175659.jpg

Chicken & Rice: Pretty classic. Made with white meat, it’s healthful and delicious — with the added bonus of being simple to prepare. Uncooked rice, spices and water go in the bottom of a casserole dish, and you nest the chicken on top for 45 minutes to an hour and it all comes out moist and tender. (My preferred meat is Trader Joe’s organic breasts, but they do tend to sell out quickly, so what you see here is the manager’s special $2 off Purdue).

Doesn’t chicken just have an unfortunate way of looking pink when photographed? Presumably, if you know what you’re doing, this problem doesn’t arise.

20140502-175718.jpg

This is adapted from a good old fashioned Campbell’s Kitchen recipe. One reason I like it? It’s great for kids, and with my little one eating more and more of the table food we adults are having for dinner, it’s more important than ever for me to find recipes that all of us can enjoy.

Chicken & Rice

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 can condensed mushroom soup (can be Campbell’s or an organic brand, such as Pacific or Amy’s)
  • 3/4 cup uncooked long-grain white rice (I used Jasmine)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/4 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I cut mine smaller)
  • 1 packet onion soup mix (OR a mix of paprika and black pepper)

DIRECTIONS

In a medium-sized bowl, mix together the dry rice, the seasonings, the water and the soup until well combined.

Pour into a glass baking dish and nestle the chicken pieces on top of the rice mixture. Cover and bake at 375F for 45 minutes (or until the chicken is cooked through; mine took 45 mins on the nose).

Uncover and let sit and cool for 10 minutes, stirring and fluffing the rice. Serve with a side of vegetables and enjoy!

A few tips:

You can customize the seasonings to be anything you like here. I also like to pound chicken breasts flat and cut them into smaller pieces for easier portioning, but you can also leave them whole. You can also use frozen chicken but just adjust the cooking time up a little.

If you don’t like mushrooms or mushroom soup, you can substitute any other condensed “cream of” variety, like celery or chicken. Mark hates mushrooms and he really likes this!

Online, I saw a few people suggest steaming vegetables such as asparagus directly on top of the chicken during the last 10 to 15 minutes of cooking. I’d love to try that idea. If you do, let me know how it goes.

Others suggested subbing chicken or veggie stock for the water, but I’m not sure it needs more saltiness, which would be my only concern with that idea.

Several cooks added chopped onions to the rice mix, and others amped up the seasonings to have a little more kick, which sounds like it could be very tasty. You could even throw in some green chilis.

You can substitute brown rice as well, but I’d recommend either pre-cooking it a bit or extending the baking time.

If you like the flavor of onion soup mix and just can’t live without more recipe ideas, check out my onion roasted potatoes (good for breakfast OR dinner) and my easy apricot chicken. Warning: some babies really, um, respond to apricots in the diaper department! Of course that might be helpful advice for some parents. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

Have I mentioned that I love this child?
Have I mentioned that I love this child?
Leave a Reply

