Holidays · Recipes

Do you STILL have leftovers to use up?

I know I do! I made a double-sized batch of my homemade cranberry sauce, and I still have some left over, even after two dinners with both sides of the family (with 12 people at each!) So this year, instead of my standby smoothie or salad dressing, I am instead going to make this awesome-looking cranberry upside-down cake from Simply Recipes:

Even though it calls for fresh cranberries, I am hoping that using leftover cooked sauce will turn out similar to this cherry upside down cake I made last year. I may even throw in a couple of fresh berries since I always have some hanging around for Miss G, who LOVES all fruit but especially cranberry sauce, even though it’s so tart!

IMG_7047

I hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. Just when I thought it couldn’t get any worse than the exhaustion of having a newborn around a major holiday, along comes the non-stop action of a toddler to make me rethink my position. We had a whirlwind four days “off.” First, that storm hit during the commute home Wednesday, so I didn’t get cooking for Thanksgiving #1 until like 8:30 p.m. On Thanksgiving Day, we all got up to watch the parade and have muffins and coffee:

IMG_7022

Then we went to my dad’s for dinner, which was lovely. The next day, I got up and started cooking all over again, fielded some media calls for work, then went to the Christmas lights display at the zoo down the street from our house with Georgia and two of her cousins:

The next day, we drove an hour south to do Thanksgiving #2 with Mark’s family including all the cousins, the littlest of whom is just five months younger than Georgia. We had a nice time, though she got really upset on the way home because we just didn’t time it very well in relation to her bedtime, and got caught behind a huge accident on 93 coming through Boston.

IMG_7120

Georgia is still battling a really pesky, loud cough, so our sleep just hasn’t been great all weekend. Last night, she woke up at 2 a.m. all upset and covered in boogies, so I was up for at least an hour comforting her, cleaning her up, and generally dreading having to be functional at work today. Which I’m not.

IMG_7232

The good news is, my Christmas shopping is coming along nicely. I have all the kids done and I handed off their wrapped presents to my brother- and sister-in-law this weekend, I’ve got Mark all finished, and now I just need to design and order our Christmas Cards online (Shutterfly? Minted? TinyPrints? I’m paralyzed!) before finishing up everyone else.

If you are still looking for gift ideas, check out my list of Eco-Friendly Baby Gifts and my Gift Guide for New Moms. I’m working on another one for toddlers as we speak! As well as a post about coping with sick babies with as natural an approach as possible. Hopefully you are more well-rested than our family, and nobody has caught this nasty chest cold that our baby just can’t seem to kick. Happy Christmas Season, and have a great week everyone!

Leave a Reply

