Baby · Christmas · Holidays

What I Got for Christmas

Happy 2015! I hope you had as wonderful a holiday and New Year as we did. Mark, Georgia and I were all home on a “staycation” from Christmas Eve until yesterday, and it was awesome! We relaxed, hosted Christmas Eve and Christmas Day at our house, visited with one of my best friends from New York, and had a family reunion of sorts this past weekend. We even hit a New Year’s Eve party like grownups (thanks, Grammie, for babysitting at our house overnight!) Georgia loved the concept of tearing wrapping paper off gifts, and “helped” everyone with theirs all day long.

What we cooked

  • Lasagna
  • Spiral Ham with applesauce
  • Scalloped Potatoes (recipe coming soon!)
  • Cranberry Bread
  • Broccoli Casserole
  • Tossed Salad
  • Buttered Corn
  • Stuffed Mushrooms
  • Salted Caramel Cupcakes

And, Mark made his famous sausage crescent rolls, which are a tasty and crowd-pleasing appetizer — he’ll be guest blogging here about the recipe just in time for your Superbowl parties!!

IMG_7527

I think this was the first time since we were married that Mark and I both didn’t have to work during the week between Christmas and the New Year. With Georgia’s daycare closed for the duration, we really had a lot of family time together, which was so amazing. Even though going back to work was crazy after almost two weeks off, it was well worth it to snuggle with my baby in the “big people bed” every morning, lounge around the house, and do brunch with friends at a few of our favorite places, like Cabot’s in Newton, In a Pickle in Waltham, and Pignone’s Cafe in Stoneham. We already knew Georgia liked pancakes and fruit, but this week we discovered that she LOVES nutella, grilled cheese and milkshakes…I mean, who doesn’t?

As for gifts? We made out pretty good. I walked away with lots of new clothes from Mark, and I got him some new LuLu gear, plus these headphones and this scale that he’s been eyeing to go along with his FitBit for ages. I also received these three books on food that I am beyond excited about:

omnivore’s dilemma, michael pollan // super natural every day, heidi swanson // plenty more, yotam ottolenghi

I am particularly excited to try Heidi Swanson’s Yogurt Biscuits and Millet Muffins, which are supposed to be healthy and appealing for lovers of corn bread (ahem, Mark and Baby G!) You may know Heidi as the founder of 101 cookbooks. I just love how simple and adaptable her recipes are; they are approachable, comforting and easy, which is a great balance to Plenty More, which highlights some more exotic and innovative ways to use unusual vegetables. If you don’t know Yotam’s story, read about the Israeli chef in this fascinating New Yorker piece from 2012; to get to know Heidi Swanson, visit her website and see a sampler of recipes from her book here.

And what did Georgia get? Well, LOTS. She (and, somewhat annoyingly, Tasha) is thrilled with her Anywhere Chair, which Mark has been waiting to get her since pretty much the day I found out I was pregnant. She also loved the Little People farm set that she got for Christmas, and the play stroller my mother-in-law got her, complete with a vintage Cabbage Patch doll! She also got lots of books and outfits and a special bracelet from my mom.

IMG_7486

IMG_7474

I have to say, I thought that last year was overwhelming with a newborn who was in the midst of her four-month sleep regression leading up to Christmas, but that couldn’t hold a candle to trying to juggle a toddler with cooking and cleaning for a holiday. Thank goodness for a pared-down menu, family who brought plenty of dishes so I didn’t have to do it all, and not having to work the next day. Georgia was so excited by all her visitors that she couldn’t fall asleep Christmas night, which is completely unlike her, and she woke up at 1 a.m. hysterical again. The next day we felt like a wreck and didn’t even get dressed until 3 in the afternoon. To think we don’t even have a child old enough to believe in Santa yet — we are doomed next year!

I definitely fantasized about taking a cruise or otherwise abandoning all the chaos in the future. 

Shopping the after-Christmas sales.
Shopping the after-Christmas sales.

Speaking of bad baby sleep, if your little one started going to bed late and sleeping in because the whole house was on vacay like Georgia did, check out this great site for getting back on track. I’m definitely reading it, because I had to get Georgia up at 8 a.m. today in order to make it to daycare on time, and for the past three days I’ve had to wake her at 9 a.m. (!!!) It’s too cute, because every time I walk in, she goes “uh oh!” as if to say “oops mom, slept late again!”

I hope you had a great holiday, and I’ll be sharing by recipe for Scalloped Potatoes soon, as well as Mark’s guest post for sausage crescent rolls. Stay warm in this deep freeze we’ve landed in!

2 thoughts on “What I Got for Christmas

Leave a Reply

