Uncategorized

Pulled Chicken Chili

It’s the Playoffs! Time for Chili. I’ve got my vegetarian chili recipe, my slow cooker version, even my extra spicy (and vegan!) version. But something was missing. Something sweet, and not based on beef. (Or a beef substitute). So I whipped up this chicken-based chili last weekend, throwing in baked beans, kidney beans, mustard, garlic, and barbecue sauce…and it’s tangy, sweet, and just right for football.

Pulled Chicken Chili

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 TBSP olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 lb. pulled chicken (I pre-bought mine from Trader Joe’s, which sells pulled chicken in a one-pound refrigerated package, but you can make pulled chicken at home by slow-cooking any boneless/skinless cuts you like over low for about 4 hours, then shredding with a fork).
  • chili powder or cumin (your preference based on taste/heat)
  • 1 16 oz. can kidney beans (I got the kind from Bush’s that says it comes in a mild chili sauce, but any kind will do!)
  • 1 16 oz. can baked beans, any style or brand
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 TBSP brown mustard
  • 1 TBSP barbecue sauce (add more to taste)

DIRECTIONS

Add the olive oil to a large stock pot (I used my Le Creuset) and heat over medium. Add the chicken and brown over medium-high (aim for medium if using cast iron like I did, since it heats up so fast).

Add the onion and the garlic and cook about 5 minutes or until fragrant. Add seasonings (I used cumin and some pepper), all the beans and the water, and bring to a simmer.

Add the mustard and barbecue sauce. Let simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Serve warm! I grated some cheddar cheese into it and crumbled tortilla chips on top before plating. Yum!!


Have a wonderful weekend, everyone! East Coasters, stay warm and dry in this storm.

3 thoughts on “Pulled Chicken Chili

Leave a Reply

