Uncategorized

One-pan Chicken & Roasted Vegetables 

Talk about easy! With a small kitchen, a picky toddler and scant dinner-prep time every day after work, I need all the quick & healthy recipes I can get my hands on. This one is so simple and so tasty, and it made just enough for our family of 3. You could EASILY stretch this into two pans in order to feed more people if your family is larger than ours. I used pre-breaded and frozen cutlets from Omaha Steaks, but I’ll include the step-by-step to preparing fresh chicken, too. For the veggies, I grabbed a steam-ready bag of pre-trimmed green beans and one container of cherry tomatoes, and those went straight into the pan (after washing, of course). Roasting veggies make them sweet and bright and both Mark and Georgia gobbled them up when I made this last week. Enjoy!

 

One-Pan Roasted Chicken & Veggies

INGREDIENTS

  • About a dozen boneless chicken cutlets*
  • 1 lb. fresh green beans, ends trimmed
  • 1 cup fresh grape or cherry tomatoes, halved
  • olive oil, salt & pepper to taste

*For pre-breaded like I used, no further work is required. If you are breading your own, then purchase enough for your family — probably 1.5 pounds will do — and slice into smaller strips if necessary, as pictured below. Combine 1/2 C breadcrumbs (Italian seasoning flavor; or, add dried basil, oregano and thyme to your plain mix), 1/4 cup grated parmesan (fresh or store bought), plus a dash of salt and pepper, then working one cutlet at a time dredge in olive oil then coat in the breadcrumb mixture before placing onto your baking sheet. If you have extra, sprinkle the leftover breadcrumb and cheese mixture on them before cooking.

DIRECTIONS

Pre-heat oven to 400. If you are using pre-breaded chicken, simply add it onto one side of the pan. I like to cover my pans with tinfoil for easy clean-up; drizzle with olive oil and spread around with fingers or a spatula, then add the chicken.

If you are breading the chicken yourself, see instructions above under ingredients.

Next, add the green beans, top with salt and pepper and toss to coat.

Roast in the oven for 25 minutes, shaking halfway through. Add the halved tomatoes during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Serve warm.

This recipe was inspired by something I saw on Cooking Classy. Love their fresh and easy food ideas!

Mark and I are heading to Newport, R.I. for a couple days. I’ll report back soon on what we ate! And in two weeks, I’m traveling to Portlane, Ore., so I can’t WAIT to get my food and drink on out there. I’ll need something to console myself when I can’t be with my baby, after all!

  Have a great weekend, everyone.

Leave a Reply

