Recipes · Uncategorized

Pizza Bolognese

Hi all! It’s almost Friday! Can I get an AMEN? I’m going to to get real with you briefly, because I’m sure you’ve noticed I’ve been blogging less frequently lately. If you’re my mom, this is the part where you’re hoping I ‘fess up to having morning all-day sickness again, but the sad truth is that I’ve been in the grips of a tremendously bad flare-up of my old stomach problem for weeks now — something I’d thought was permanently behind me since having Georgia. I’ve had to go into crisis mode with food, and that has meant eating (and cooking) much less while I try to get this under control. Happily, I did try out one new winning recipe this week that Mark and Georgia deemed a success, so I’m here to share that with you, even if I can’t eat it myself!

I only pulled this together because some ingredients were going to go bad otherwise, what with me not eating them as planned, but I’ll be keeping it in our regular rotation (and hoping I can partake) because it’s so easy and filling. This is a recipe you can shop for all at Trader Joe’s if you like, but it’s simple to swap out TJ’s ingredients for regular supermarket stuff, too. As with all pizza recipes, you can make your own dough, buy it at a pizza shop for a buck or two, or go with the pre-made brand of your choice. I normally use Target’s thin-crust two pack, but wanted a thicker, doughier option this time to hold up against the pillow-y mozzarella and chunky meat sauce.

Pizza Bolognese

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pizza crust (I like the thicker style of Boboli for this one!)
  • handful of shredded cheese, any kind, as a base layer
  • ~3/4 cup meat sauce (I used Trader Joe’s Bolognese); adjust quantity to taste
  • one fresh mozzarella ball, torn into chunks by hand
  • handful of basil leaves, shredded by hand
  • optional: Italian seasoning on top (I used Wildtree Hearty Spaghetti Blend)

DIRECTIONS

Preheat the oven to 450F and place the pizza crust on your baking tray. I use a non-stick pizza pan since we make homemade pies so often, but you could use a rectangular or square baking sheet and stretch the dough to fit it, or buy a non-round pre-made crust to accommodate your pan.

Layer some shredded cheese on the crust in a light layer. (I had packaged cheddar on hand that I wanted to use up). Follow with the sauce, spreading it out evenly and to your desired thickness. Too heavy will slip right off the pie after cooking; a little goes a long way!

Continue by breaking up the mozzarella by hand and dropping it on the pizza, distributing as evenly as you can or to your desired level.

Follow by ripping some basil leaves over the top, quantity to your taste.

Bake for 8-10 minutes, until browned on the edges of the crust, and allow plenty of cooling time after so the ingredients stay together. If you try to eat it too quickly it’ll be too heavy and might fall apart. 10 minutes cooling should do it! Enjoy!


I’ll be back soon with a few thoughts on how I’ve tried to get my digestion back on track, in the hopes it can help someone else. Sadly, it’s not uncommon for young women (see what I did there?) to have chronic stomach ailments that baffle doctors, and while it’s frustrating to have them tick possible reasons off the list — celiac? colitis? preservatives? obstruction? — without finding any answers, it’s helped me develop a few tools of my own to combat the symptoms, and so far my approach IS working. This is the reason I became a vegetarian in the first place, so the first thing I do is eliminate what little meat I DO eat these days as soon as symptoms re-emerge. I’ll be back this weekend to share my other tips and lessons learned. Hope all of you are well and feeling excited about Spring! Pretty soon it’ll be Marathon Monday and we can all start planting our gardens and opening the windows for some fresh air! XOXO.

 

Leave a Reply

