Recipes

Cabbage-Arugula Salad with Sliced Beets, Grapes & Feta

Good Tuesday morning everyone! Hope you all had a restful Mother’s Day. We didn’t really do much — took Georgia for lunch and ice cream with both her grammies & her favorite Uncle Brent — and I’m already focused on the week ahead and the DAMN SUN COMING BACK OUT. Am I the only one losing their mind over last week’s seven-day stretch of rain? Weather that seemed charming and curious on my visit to the Pacific Northwest became alarming and anxiety-inducing when it overtook what’s supposed to be a sunny and mild season in New England. Thankfully, the nice weather seems to be back for this week (finally), and nothing says spring like a light, fresh salad. I created this one a couple weeks ago, and I can’t wait to share with you! I’m a sucker for any salad with beets in it, especially when they are set off with a flavorful cheese, and this one really hits the mark with a salty feta alongside grapes and beets. Plus, scroll to the end for an easy knockoff recipe for the Cosi Signature Salad — a weakness of mine when I buy lunch out! 

Cabbage-Arugula Salad with Sliced Beets, Grapes & Feta

INGREDIENTS

  • Greens: I used Napa Cabbage, Purple Cabbage and Arugula.
  • Toppings: Feta, crumbled; grapes, sliced in half; baby beets, sliced.
  • Optional Add-On: chicken for a little protein boost.
  • Dressing: Fig vinaigrette. Stonewall Kitchen makes an amazing one!


DIRECTIONS

Chop and toss salad together in a large bowl and serve. That’s it!

Don’t like feta? Try goat cheese, which always pairs awesomely with beets. Beets are actually not that difficult to peel and slice at home, as long as you use a plastic cutting board and wash it immediately afterward, and be careful not to touch anything with your hands covered in beet juice because it stains! Or, you can buy the canned/jarred kind, or snag some at a salad bar if you’re making this on the go.

Personally, I made this for the first time at a salad bar, and then recreated it at home later with great results. Now, it’s one of my new favorites! You can only order so much chicken Caesar for lunch before you want a change of pace.

What are your favorite salads? My other go-to orders for lunch and dinner are Panera’s Fuji Apple Chicken Salad, and the Cosi Signature Salad, which is easy to recreate at home with grapes, pears, pistachios (sold shelled at Trader Joe’s), dried cranberries, mixed greens, Gorgonzola and sherry shallot vinaigrette.

Sherry Vinegar is a specialty item, but lots of food bloggers have spent time trying to mimic its flavor with a copycat recipe, and I think Real Mom Nutrition has it down pat: you just need to whisk minced shallot, red wine vinegar, mustard, honey, and olive oil together until thoroughly combined, then add salt and pepper to taste, to recreate Cosi’s awesome house salad. The ratio is 1/2 a shallot, peeled & minced; 2 TBSP red wine vinegar; 1 TBSP each of honey and Dijon mustard; and a 1/2 cup of olive oil, finished with salt and pepper to taste.

The best part of the Panera salad is those crispy apple slices, if you ask me. I’m going to try my hand at drying apple rings into chips soon so that I can make a knock-off version of this awesome salad at home. These takeout salads run you almost $10 a pop, which is CRAY if you can easily make them at home! If I have any luck making dried apple rings, I’ll definitely post about it for you!

Well, that’s all for me today. I hope everyone has a great week!

Leave a Reply

