Drinks & Smoothies · Recipes

Banana Vanilla Milkshake for Everyone

I did not mean to disappear for seven days. We have had family in town from Florida, and thus I’ve been busy taking some day trips, eating some tasty food, and just generally enjoying these last weeks of summer. We’ve been too busy to cook! But oh man, have I been eating out. I need a junk food detox! I see lots of salad, yoga and Zumba in my future. In fact, since Mark is back working nights on top of the Freedom Trail season, I’ve switched my Blue Apron to all-vegetarian for the foreseeable future.


 We had Thai food, and ice cream for the birthday girl.


Then, I took a day off to go to Rockport with my mom and aunt, where we ate lobster rolls, fried haddock, clam chowder, and old fashioned candy, and even got to see a catch of lobsters and crabs come in at the dock.

                 
Before Georgia’s party and the invasion of the relatives I invented this milkshake for Georgia, for a few reasons. Number one: to use up a blackened banana. Number two: to get more calcium into my kid, since she stopped drinking milk when her baby bottles went bye-bye. And boy did it come out tasty!


  

It’s super simple to make. Just blend:

  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 banana-vanilla flavored yogurt (or just vanilla)
  • 1 frozen banana, or fresh (in which case add ice for texture)
  • a dash of vanilla extract
  • a dash of cinnamon

Process in a blender until smooth, adding ice if you didn’t use a frozen banana for consistency and temperature. Enjoy cold with cinnamon sprinkled on top!

This doesn’t taste overly banana-y but is very creamy and refreshing. Because it’s thinner than a smoothie, it can go right into a toddler’s sippy cup just as well as a drinking glass for mom and dad!

IMG_1838

IMG_1837

One thought on “Banana Vanilla Milkshake for Everyone

Leave a comment